But back in Tokyo….

Considering the greatest expense for me in Tokyo is the act of getting there and back, you would think I was crazy to go there for only a single day.  In most cases, you would be right. My trip to Tokyo four weeks ago, however, was totally worth it.

This will come as no surprise to anyone reading this blog: I am a giant geek. As such, I am somewhat active on an internet webforum. Said forum has a fairly active social aspect. I was very involved with the San Francisco group, and became involved with the Japan group before I left. James, one of my friends from San Francisco, formerly lived in Tokyo. He consequently knows a number of the Tokyo members. One in particular he introduced me to via e-mail. James told me this was a must know person in Japan, as he knows many people. And the parties he throws were epic. Unfortunately, when I came to Japan this March he was working back in the States. Last month that changed, and he returned with a new job in Japanese finance.

I met up with Nick and the other forum members midday on Saturday. We grabbed lunch at Brozers, arguably the best burgers in Japan, and drank margaritas at the loft apartment owned by one of our crowd.  There was the tour of Akihabara, where someone made a flag labelled “Ballerstan” (the faux country our members joke of hailing from) to lead our group of fifteen.  This preceeded the main event, an all you can eat and all you can drink yakiniku buffet at a beer garden.  Here our numbers doubled, and my friend Junichi joined us. After two hours of eating and drinking, we made our way to karaoke. Fitting thirty people into a karaoke room is not an easy task. Unless you have a massive room, which to our fortune we did.

Two hours of crooning and eleven o’clock rolled around. Those still awake an active made their way to Shibuya, and we danced at Womb until dawn. We killed an hour at McDonalds while waiting for the trains to start, and around six in the morning I boarded a Shinkansen back home. I arrived home some time before noon.  Sunday was mostly sleep.

An intense and fun day, but my body certainly felt it. I may be a little young to harp about being old, but I’m not able to party this heavily without feeling the consequences like a did before hitting twenty-five. I can still party hard, I just need recovery the next day. This isn’t the sort of thing I like to do all the time anyway. Nights of mayhem are a nice change of pace every now and then but I’m more geared to more relaxed gatherings. Say it now, I’m an old man.

A note on Womb: A nice three story club, with choice of pop hits, hip hop or house/techno. Crowded enough to make a fire marshall weep, as most Tokyo clubs are, but the male to female ratio was heavy on the male side. The women I did notice seemed more content to watch the dance floor from a side awning in their own group rather than dance on the floor. Why come to a club then. To be fair, given the number of times I played rescue from someone handsy for one of our female members, I can’t really blame them. This is why I prefer bars.

3 responses

  1. Melissa Evans

    Womb is a terrible name for a club. It’s kind of icky.

    July 30, 2010 at 3:20 am

  2. Ah! SA, I take it?

    July 31, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    • Menzie

      on the nose

      November 25, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

