A rapping on my door

Generally I don’t like to be awoken at 7am. For any reason. But when the Fed Ex woman arrived with my Certificate of Eligibility, I was able to force a smile. At least I get to wake up to something new.

I recently joined the Interac 2010 facebook group. I figure it will be a good way to get to know some of the people in my company who are in similar boats to my own. In this case I suppose boat is a metaphor for island, both of of which are surrounded by water. Where was I going with this?

Right. Meeting people. I’ve been trying to spend more time with Hisashi, Tadao, Kenji and Masayuki before I leave but regrettably their work has kept them rather busy. Now that I know where I am teaching they are making plans to visit me after they return. They won’t be coming straight to Kato city, but there’s always something worth doing in Kansai that we can meet for. Junichi and I are making plans to meet up for dinner and drinks in Tokyo after I arrive, and I’m going to try to get coffee with Yumemi before I head off to Osaka as well. Nick and I are batting around ideas of what to do while not spending much money. We want to go to Ageha again, but that’s difficult to do with out dropping some bank. Karaoke maybe? There are always people at East House II to do stuff with, just a matter of what to do…

Speaking of, I should write an e-mail to Rika and Masaki. Rika is one of the house mothers at East House II, the guest house where Nick lives. She’s very kind, speaks excellent English and is a lot of fun. I should probably send off another round of post cards to the guys at East House II as well. I’m excited to see them all again. Masaki I met at a church in Kobe. He’s a Japanese American expatriated to Kobe, very intelligent and kind. I’m hoping to go back to that church in Kobe again… I just can’t remember the name of it or how to get there. I’m sure Masaki can help with this, and he’s someone I’d like to get and keep in touch with in any case. It will be good to know some people near where I live, and if they are brothers and sisters in Christ, all the better.

Next week is my last week of work. I have two shoots scheduled all week, versus the two I usually have on a slow day. I’m sure I’ll be able to find some time on Monday to submit my passport for my work visa.

Leave a Reply

